National Honours Awards 2021

Pursuant to Section 8 Subsection (1) of the National Honours Act, His Excellency, The Most Honourable Sir Cornelius A. Smith, O.N., GCMG, Governor-General of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas and Chancellor of The Societies and Awards, acting on the advice of the National Honours Advisory Committee and the Prime Minister of The Bahamas is pleased to announce the recipients of the Awards for 2021:

The Order of The Bahamas Companion
The Right Honourable Algernon Sidney Patrick Benedict Allen, CB
Mr. Allen is being recognized for outstanding services to the Bahamian people in Government and in the areas of Politics, civic offices and philanthropy.


The Order of Distinction Companion
Mr. Leon Livingstone Smith, CD
Mr.  Smith served as the first Bahamian Commodore of the Royal Bahamas Defence Force and is being recognized for outstanding leadership and dedicated service to The Bahamas in the area of Law enforcement.
Mrs. Eugenia Cartwright, OD
An outstanding Public Officer of over forty years, Ms. Cartwright has served the Bahamian People with distinction. She retired as Treasurer of the Commonwealth of The Bahamas having served in that capacity for over nineteen years.
Ms. Mary Johnson, OD
Ms. Mary Johnson is being recognized for dedication and exceptional leadership in the field of nursing.

Mr. Robert Sands, DM
Mr. Sands is being recognized for his outstanding leadership and exceptional management skills in the Hotel and Hospitality Industry.


The Order of Merit (Religion, Sports, Arts and Culture) Officer [s]
Mr. Perceval Andrew Knowles , OM
Mr. Knowles is being recognized for his leadership in community service and development.
Mrs. Patricia Meicholas, OM
Mrs. Meicholas is being recognized for her outstanding contribution to Education, Culture, Literary works.

Mrs. Patricia Bazzard, OM (Posthumously)
Mrs. Bazzard for her service in the field of Culture, Civics and the Performing Arts. Member [s]
Mr. Al  Collie, MM
 Mr. Collie is being recognized for his dedication to the promotion of Arts and Culture

 Rev. Copeland Morley, MM
Rev. Morley is being recognized for Religion and community services

Mother Bishop Vivian Cox, MM
Rev. Cox is being recognized for her contribution to the field of Religion

Ms. Celestine Eneas, MM
Ms. Eneas is being recognized for her promotion of Bahamian Art and Culture and her sterling leadership in the native straw Industry.

Wilford Rutherford, MM
Mr. Rutherford, an avid sportsman is recognized for his long and exceptional service in the development of youth through sports.

Distinguished Service Medals

Captain Patrick Livingstone Rolle
Captain Rolle is being recognized for his outstanding leadership and contribution to the development of the Air Transportation Industry.

Mrs. Agatha Archer
Mrs. Archer is being recognized for her outstanding leadership and commitment in the field of Education.

Mr. Douglas Hanna
Mr. Hanna is being recognized for his contribution in the field of law enforcement and his excellent leadership qualities.

The recipients will receive their awards on National Heroes Day on 11th October, 2021.

10th July, 2021
Office of the Governor General
One Montague Place
# 9 East Bay Street
Nassau, New Providence
The Bahamas